BOROUGH OF CARROLL VALLEY REORGANIZATION COUNCIL MEETING MONDAY, JANUARY 2, 2024 – 7:00 P.M. BOROUGH OFFICE

MINUTES

Mayor Ronald J. Harris called the meeting to order at 7:00 P.M and he led the Pledge of Allegiance.

The attendance was as follows:

BOROUGH COUNCIL MEMBERS

Present

Bruce Carr
L. Michael Wight
David Lillard
Richard Mathews
John Schubring
Cody Gilbert
Catherine Schubring

Absent

BOROUGH OFFICIALS, ETC.

Ronald J. Harris, Mayor David A. Hazlett, Borough Manager Gayle R. Marthers, Borough Secretary Clifford Weikert, Police Chief

Mayor Harris stated the purpose of the reorganization meeting is to administer the oath of office to the newly elected Borough Council members, to elect a President and Vice President of Council and to appoint and/or reappoint Borough officers, committee members and consultants.

Mayor Harris welcomed all newly elected officials to be sworn in. He administered the oath to the following:

- Bruce Carr, Borough Council
- L. Michael Wight, Borough Council

Mayor Harris asked that all the appropriate paperwork be presented to the Borough Secretary, and he congratulated them on their election to their various offices.

ELECTION OF PRESIDENT AND VICE PRESIDENT

Mayor Harris read the process for electing the President and Vice President. Said process was read from the Carroll Valley Borough By-Laws.

The Borough Secretary, Gayle Marthers was asked to conduct an alphabetical Rollcall whereby each member announced their vote for President of Council:

Mr. Carr voted for Mr. Mathews

Mr. Gilbert voted for Mr. Mathews

Mr. Lillard voted for Mr. Mathews

Mr. Mathews voted for Mr. Mathews

Ms. Schubring voted for Mr. Mathews

Dr. Schubring voted for Mr. Mathews

Mr. Wight voted for Mr. Mathews

The vote yielded a majority for Mr. Mathews.

The Borough Secretary, Gayle Marthers was then asked to conduct an alphabetical Rollcall whereby each member announced their vote for Vice President of Council:

Mr. Carr voted for Dr. Schubring

Mr. Gilbert voted for Dr. Schubring

Mr. Lillard voted for Mr. Wight

Mr. Mathews voted for Mr. Verderaime

Ms. Schubring voted for Dr. Schubring

Dr. Schubring voted for Dr. Schubring

Mr. Wight voted for Mr. Wight

The vote yielded a majority for Dr. Schubring.

Mayor Harris turned the meeting over to the Council President Richard Mathews.

Mr. Mathews proceeded with requesting Members to consider the appointment of a President Pro-Tempore:

*** D. Lillard moved; C. Gilbert seconded that Members appoint a President Pro-Tempore by the same method as President and Vice President. Motion passed unanimously.

The Borough Secretary, Gayle Marthers was then asked to conduct an alphabetical Rollcall whereby each member announced their vote for President Pro Tempore of Council:

Mr. Carr voted for Mr. Wight

Mr. Gilbert voted for Mr. Wight

Mr. Lillard voted for Mr. Wight

Mr. Mathews voted for Mr. Wight

Ms. Schubring voted for Mr. Wight

Dr. Schubring voted for Mr. Wight

Mr. Wight voted for Mr. Carr

The vote yielded a majority for Mr. Wight.

AFFIRMATIONS OF COMMITTEE STRUCTURE

The Committee structure was reviewed and included much discussion regarding:

- Ad Hoc committee whose sole purpose would be to do strategic planning of the 47-acres of land along Rt 116 near the intersection of Rt 116 and Rt 16.
 - o # of participants is suggested to be nine (9) but may be increased or decreased upon reviewing the field of applicants
 - o Development of a short yet broad Mission Statement to guide the group
- Parks, Recreation and Environment Advisory Council
 - What are the tasks of this group?
 - Are they operating successfully?
 - O Consensus of Member was to separate this group into a Parks and Recreation Committee utilizing the current membership and provide them with tasks other than event planning to accomplish
 - Upon the suggestion of Ms. Schubring, the Environmental Advisory component of this group would be separated out and Membership for this new committee would be sought out following the development of the committee structure and responsibilities.

***M. Wight moved; C. Gilbert seconded that Council agree to Affirm the Committee Structure with the modifications noted. Motion passed unanimously.

APPOINTMENT OF BOROUGH COMMITTEE MEMBERS.

Members reviewed the memorandum dated December 29, 2023, that outlined the committee members whose terms expired as of December 31, 2023. Following much discussion Members agreed by consensus to forgo the automatic re-appointment of current members and asked that Mr. Hazlett, Borough Manager use social media and the Borough Website to announce that Council would be seeking candidates for all seats eligible for re-appointment.

The schedule of meeting days and times, having been approved via the Committee Structure, was reviewed for advertisement. Following brief discussion:

***D. Lillard moved; M. Wight seconded that the Borough Meeting Schedule be advertised in accordance with Borough Code. Motion passed unanimously.

BOROUGH CONSULTANTS, PROFESSIONALS AND REPRESENTATIVES.

Following brief discussion:

***D. Lillard moved; J. Schubring seconded that Council re-appoint the following Professional Consultants to the various position of the Borough:

Borough Auditor - Boyer & Ritter, LLC
Borough Engineer - KPI Technologies
Borough Sewage Enforcement Officer (SEO) - KPI Technologies
Borough Solicitor - Salzmann Hughes, PC
Borough Engineer to the Wastewater Treatment Plant - Keller Engineering

The motion passed unanimously.

***M. Wight moved; B. Carr seconded that Council re-appoint the following Individuals to the various County and Regional Committee to represent the Borough:

Representatives to York Adams Tax Bureau:

Borough Representative - Ron Harris, Mayor

Borough Alternate Representative - Gayle Marthers, Borough Secretary

Representative to Adams County Tax Collection Committee:

Borough Representative - Ron Harris, Mayor

Borough Alternate Representative - Gayle Marthers, Borough Secretary

Representative to Adams County Council of Governments:

Borough Representative - Ron Harris, Mayor

Borough Alternate Representative - Gayle Marthers, Borough Secretary

Representative to Fairfield Regional Emergency Management Agency:

Borough Representative - Ron Harris, Mayor

Borough Alternate Representative - Gayle Marthers, Borough Secretary

The motion passed unanimously.

ACCOUNT SIGNATORIES.

Mr. Hazlett explained that signatories need to be updated periodically and that it was recommended to limit the number to three (3). Following brief discussion Members agreed by consensus to have Borough Staff prepare the necessary resolutions to have the President, Vice President and President Pro Tempore named signatories on the various bank accounts of the Borough.

RESOLUTION #1-2024: 2024 FEE SCHEDULE.

Mr. Hazlett reviewed the 2024 Fee Schedule noting increases highlighted in red print. Discussion included the increasing cost to maintain the Ranch Trail Park fields being used by the soccer teams, costs associated with Zoning Hearings and the corresponding fees charged by the Borough for these

services. Mr. Hazlett reminded Members that the Borough is not permitted by Borough Code to recoup actual realized expenses for these services. Following brief discussion:

***M. Wight moved; D. Lillard seconded that Council adopt Resolution #1-2024: 2024 Fee Schedule effective January 2, 2024. Motion passed unanimously.

OPEN TO THE PUBLIC

No one addressed Council at this time.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 9:35 P.M. via a motion by B. Carr and seconded by M. Wight that passed unanimously.

ATTENDANCE REGISTER

The Attendance Register for this meeting is attached, made a part of the Official Minutes and numbered as Page 5.

Gayle R. Marthers, Borough Secretary	