BOROUGH OF CARROLL VALLEY REORGANIZATION COUNCIL MEETING MONDAY, JANUARY 4, 2016 – 7:00 P.M. BOROUGH OFFICE

MINUTES

Mayor Ronald J. Harris called the meeting to order at 7:00 P.M and lead the Pledge of Allegiance. The attendance was as follows:

BOROUGH COUNCIL MEMBERS Present

Janis E. Ashman Bruce Carr Thomas Fitzsimmons N. Kenneth Lundberg Daniel J. Patton, Sr Robert Tyler Pyles Sarah Skoczen **Absent**

BOROUGH OFFICIALS, ETC.

Ronald J. Harris, Mayor David A. Hazlett, Borough Manager Gayle R. Marthers, Borough Secretary Richard L. Hileman, Police Chief

Mayor Harris stated the purpose of the reorganization meeting is to administer the oath of office to the newly elected Borough Council members, to elect a President and Vice President of Council and to appoint and/or reappoint Borough officers, committee members and consultants.

At this time, Ms. Ashman, Mr. Carr, Mr. Fitzsimmons, Mr. Pyles and Ms. Skoczen were sworn in by Mayor Harris and he congratulated them on their election to the office of Councilor.

ELECTION OF PRESIDENT AND VICE PRESIDENT

Mayor Harris proceeded with the elections. Each member was asked by roll call to cast their vote for Council President: The following results were recorded:

Mr. Tyler voted for Ms. Ashman Mr. Carr voted for Mr. Carr Ms. Ashman voted for Ms. Ashman Mr. Fitzsimmons voted for Mr. Carr Mr. Patton voted for Ms. Ashman Ms. Skoczen voted for Ms. Ashman Mr. Lundberg voted for Mr. Lundberg

The vote yielding a majority for Ms. Ashman.

Mayor Harris asked each member to cast their vote by roll call for Council Vice President. The following results were recorded:

Mr. Lundberg voted for Mr. Patton Ms. Skoczen voted for Ms. Skoczen Mr. Patton voted for Ms. Skoczen Mr. Fitzsimmons voted for Mr. Carr Ms. Ashman voted for Ms. Skoczen Mr. Carr voted for Mr. Carr Mr. Pyles voted for Mr. Carr The vote having yielded a tie between Mr. Carr and Ms. Skoczen; Mayor Harris asked that the Members be called by roll to cast a vote for either Mr. Carr or Ms. Skoczen. The following results were recorded:

- Mr. Tyler voted for Mr. Carr
- Mr. Carr voted for Mr. Carr
- Ms. Ashman voted for Ms. Skoczen
- Mr. Fitzsimmons voted for Mr. Carr
- Mr. Patton voted for Ms. Skoczen
- Ms. Skoczen voted for Ms. Skoczen
- Mr. Lundberg voted for Ms. Skoczen

The vote yielding a majority for Ms. Skoczen.

Mayor Harris turned the meeting over to the Council President Janis Ashman.

AFFIRMATIONS OF COMMITTEE STRUCTURE

Mr. Hazlett explained that the Members could choose to change the structure of committees at this time. Following no discussion:

Mr. Fitzsimmons moved; Mr. Lundberg seconded that Council affirmed the Committee structure as has been in place prior. Motion passed unanimously.

APPOINTMENT OF BOROUGH COMMITTEE MEMBERS.

After discussion the following action was taken:

***D. Patton moved, K. Lundberg seconded, that Council appoint the following Borough Residents to the corresponding Committees for the appropriate term:

1 0		
Beth Cool	-	Finance Committee
Lisa McLeod-Simmons	-	Planning Commission
John Schubring	-	Planning Commission
Ron Harris	-	Planning Commission
Ed Kaplan	-	Planning Commission
Anthony Golden	-	Zoning Hearing Board
Laura Scudder	-	Zoning Hearing Board
Lawrence Muschamp	-	Zoning Hearing Board
Frank Buhrman	-	Vacancy Board
Anthony Golden	-	Public Safety Committee
Ron Harris	-	Public Safety Committee
Janis Ashman	-	Public Safety Committee
John Svalina	-	Public Safety Committee

The motion passed unanimously.

APPOINTMENT OF BOROUGH CONSULTANTS, PROFESSIONALS AND REPRESENTATIVES.

After brief explanation:

***K. Lundberg moved; D. Patton seconded that Council appoint the following Agencies, Companies or Individuals to the corresponding Borough Positions.

Borough Engineer	-	Eric Mains of Buchart Horn, Inc.
Borough Solicitor	-	Samuel Wiser of Salzmann Hughes
Borough Sewage Enforcement Officer (SEO)	-	Gil Picarelli of KPI Technologies
Borough Alternate SEO	-	Dominic Picarelli of KPI Technologies

Borough Deputy Tax Collector	-	Natalie Williams		
Representatives to York Adams Tax Burea	u:			
Contact Person	-	David A. Hazlett, Borough Manager		
Borough Representative	-	Ron Harris, Mayor		
Borough Alternate Representative	-	Gayle Marthers, Borough Secretary		
Representative to Adams County Tax Collection Committee:				

-	David A. Hazlett, Borough Manager
-	Ron Harris, Mayor
-	Gayle Marthers, Borough Secretary
	-

The motion passed unanimously.

ORDINANCES AND RESOLUTIONS

Resolution #1-2016: 2016 Fee Schedule. Mr. Hazlett explained the schedule commenting that no new fees have been established nor any current fees raised.

***K. Lundberg moved; B. Carr seconded that Council adopt Resolution #1-2016 establishing the 2016 Fee Schedule. Motion passed unanimously.

Resolution #2-2016: PLGIT Signatories. Mr. Hazlett explained that a new signatory forms is needed to remove former councilmen Abrams and Lytle; and that in order to efficiently handle Borough business it is recommended to have several signers. Following brief discussion:

***D. Patton moved; T. Pyles seconded that Council adopt Resolution #2-2016 listing the following as signers for all PLGIT accounts: David Hazlett, Daniel Patton, N. Kenneth Lundberg, Janis Ashman and Sarah Skoczen. Motion passed unanimously.

Resolution #3-2016: ACNB Signatories. Mr. Hazlett explained the Borough has with ACNB as well and that is requires its own action; therefore, a new signatory forms is needed to remove former councilmen Abrams and Lytle; and that in order to efficiently handle Borough business it is recommended to have several signers. Following brief discussion:

***D. Patton moved; T. Pyles seconded that Council adopt Resolution #2-2016 listing the following as signers for all PLGIT accounts: David Hazlett, Daniel Patton, N. Kenneth Lundberg, Janis Ashman and Sarah Skoczen. Motion passed unanimously.

OPEN TO THE PUBLIC

No one addressed Council at this time.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 7:45 P.M.

ATTENDANCE REGISTER

The Attendance Register for this meeting is attached, made a part of the Official Minutes and numbered as Page 4.