BOROUGH OF CARROLL VALLEY REORGANIZATION COUNCIL MEETING MONDAY, JANUARY 4, 2010 – 7:00 P.M. BOROUGH OFFICE

MINUTES

Mayor Ronald J. Harris called the meeting to order at 7:00 P.M. Mayor Harris led the Pledge of Allegiance. The attendance was as follows:

BOROUGH COUNCIL MEMBERS BOROUGH OFFICIALS, ETC.

Present

Neal E. Abrams Ronald J. Harris, Mayor

Frank A. Buhrman

N. Kenneth Lundberg

Tammy J. Lytle

David A. Hazlett, Borough Manager

Gayle R. Marthers, Borough Secretary

Richard L. Hileman, Police Chief

Daniel J. Patton, Sr.
William K. Reinke

John J. Van Volkenburgh, Jr.

Mayor Harris stated the purpose of the reorganization meeting is to administer the oath of office to the newly elected Borough Council members, to elect a President and Vice President of Council and to appoint and/or reappoint Borough officers, committee members and consultants.

At this time, Mr. Lundberg, Mr. Patton, and Mr. VanVolkenburgh were sworn in by Mayor Harris and he congratulated them on their election to the office of Councilor.

ELECTION OF PRESIDENT AND VICE PRESIDENT

Mayor Harris proceeded with the elections. The following vote was taken for Council President.

- Mr. Abrams voted for Mr. VanVolkenburgh
- Ms. Lytle voted for Mr. VanVolkenburgh
- Mr. Reinke voted for Mr. VanVolkenburgh
- Mr. Buhrman voted for Mr. VanVolkenburgh
- Mr. Patton voted for Mr. VanVolkenburgh
- Mr. Van Volkenburgh voted for Mr. Van Volkenburgh
- Mr. Lundberg voted for Mr. VanVolkenburgh

The vote was unanimous for Mr. VanVolkenburgh.

The following vote was taken for Council Vice President.

- Mr. Lundberg voted for Mr. Patton
- Mr. Van Volkenburgh voted for Mr. Patton
- Mr. Patton voted for Mr. Patton
- Mr. Buhrman voted for Mr. Patton
- Mr. Reinke voted for Mr. Patton
- Ms. Lytle voted for Mr. Patton
- Mr. Abrams voted for Mr. Patton

The vote was unanimous for Mr. Patton.

Mayor Harris turned the meeting over to the Council President John Van Volkenburgh.

AFFIRMATIONS OF COMMITTEE STRUCTURE

***F. Buhrman moved, N. Abrams seconded, that Council affirms the Committee structure as presented.

The discussion noted there were three vacancies on the Parks and Recreation Committee and consensus was to reduce the membership back to seven members from eight members which had been added at the meeting last year. This leaves two vacancies on the Committee. Other vacancies include a Physician on the Board of Health, two members of the Planning Commission, an alternate on the Zoning Hearing Board and two seats on the Sewer and Water Authority. Members were asked to canvas for interested volunteers.

Motion carried unanimously with the change made by consensus.

REAPPOINTMENT OF BOROUGH OFFICERS, COMMITTEE MEMBERS, CONSULTANTS, ETC.

Following discussion the following action was taken:

***W. Reinke moved, T. Lytle seconded, that Council appoint the following Borough Residents to the corresponding Committees for the appropriate term:

Tammy Lytle - Parks & Recreation Myron Bowman - Finance Committee

Daniel Patton - Planning Commission & Public Safety Committee

Laura Scudder - Zoning Hearing Board

Anthony Golden - Zoning Hearing Board

Dorothy Corbin - Vacancy Board

Neal Abrams - Public Safety Committee

The motion carried unanimously.

OPEN TO THE PUBLIC

There was no one from the public wishing to address Council.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 7:40 P.M.

ATTENDANCE REGISTER

The Attendance Register for this meeting is attached, made a part of the Official Minutes and numbered as Page 3.

Gayle R. Marthers, Borough Secretary